Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification – CMMC Compliance

Charlotte, Raleigh, and across North Carolina Department of Defense (DoD) contractors and subcontractors will soon be required to comply with the new Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) 2.0 standard. The new standard is designed to help counteract the significant increase in the compromises of sensitive defense information which is shared across the defense industrial base. In the past, DoD contractors have been responsible for maintaining certain cybersecurity practices, but under the emerging CMMC, requirements are added, such as third-party compliance assessments and implementing additional security protections.  Once implemented, contractors and subcontractors must comply to be awarded contract work.

5 CMMC Maturity Levels (ML)

Phased in over a five-year period, CMMC includes 5 maturity levels based on a North Carolina DoD contractor’s access to Federal Contract Information (FCI) and Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI). CMMC Level 1 level known as basic cyber hygiene requires the use of techniques such as antivirus and passwords to control access to FCI. The requirements become more complex reaching Level 5, Optimizing, which requires standardized processes to address Advanced Persistent Threats (APT).

North Carolina Top DoD Spending Locations


Charlotte CMMC Services

Many Charlotte DoD contractors will need assistance performing initial assessments to uncover issues, establish corrective actions, and chart a path towards CMMC readiness. The CMMC is complex. ML 3 contains 381 discrete cybersecurity requirements spread among 130 practices, and 310 policy/procedure requirements spread among 51process maturity requirements. The requirements are complex, and our team has almost 20 years of experience providing cybersecurity compliance services across many complex frameworks such as NIST SP 800-171, NIST SP 800-53, HIPAA, and others. As a CMMC Registered Provider Organization (RPO), our team can help DoD prime and subcontractors with the following:

  • Readiness Assessments and Gap Analyses Against the CMMC Framework
  • Assistance with Remediating Gaps Identified during Readiness Assessment
  • Assistance with NIST SP 800-171 Self-Assessment that is recorded in Supplier Performance Risk System
  • Creating System Security Plans (SSP)
  • Creating Plans of Action and Milestones (POA&M)

Contact Our CMMC Team

Keiter provides CMMC readiness assessments and remediation services to DoD contractors across North Carolina including Raleigh and Charlotte. If you are interested in learning how we can assist your organization, complete the form below and a team member will follow up promptly.

"*" indicates required fields

We'll never share your email with anyone else.
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


About North Carolina’s DoD Contractors

North Carolina’s Department of Defense (DOD) contractors are significant contributors to national security and technological advancement. The state hosts a diverse and dynamic community of defense contractors, specializing in various fields such as aerospace, technology, cybersecurity, and advanced manufacturing.

These contractors collaborate closely with DOD agencies and military installations like Fort Bragg, Camp Lejeune, and Seymour Johnson Air Force Base. They are instrumental in developing cutting-edge defense technologies, systems, and solutions, enhancing the nation’s defense capabilities.

North Carolina’s DOD contractors also have a substantial economic impact on the state, creating jobs and fostering innovation. Their commitment to excellence and their partnership with the military ensure that the United States remains at the forefront of military technology and readiness. North Carolina’s defense contractors play a pivotal role in supporting national defense efforts while driving economic growth and technological advancement within the state.

National Reach

We also provide CMMC services to Department of Defense Contractors in Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Mississippi, New Hampshire, Vermont, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Maine,  Rhode Island, Massachusetts, New York, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas,  Vermont, the state of Washington, and Washington DC.

Contact Us